630 E. Summit St. Lead, SD 57754

June 9, 2021

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson

Chairwoman

House Science, Space and Technology Committee

The Honorable Jamaal Bowman

Chairman

Energy Subcommittee

The Honorable Frank Lucas

Ranking Member

House Science, Space and Technology Committee

The Honorable Randy Weber

Ranking Member Energy Subcommittee

Dear Chairwoman Johnson, Ranking Member Lucas, Subcommittee Chairman Bowman and Ranking Member Weber:

On behalf of the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority (SDSTA), thank you for your leadership and introduction of the *Department of Energy Science for the Future Act*.

We appreciate the committee's thoughtful work on this bipartisan bill that would strengthen our nation's science and innovation ecosystem, enhance our competitiveness, and equip our national laboratories, user facilities, and academic institutions to unlock answers to fundamental scientific questions. We also greatly appreciate the bill's emphasis on each of the ways DOE contributes to our nation's investment in science, including understanding the building blocks of the universe, the role of underground science, and the importance of tapping into different stakeholders across the research and education ecosystem. Moreover, the legislation recognizes the importance of major federal facilities and international research endeavors to U.S. leadership by fully funding highly ranked scientific projects being leveraged through public-private and international partnerships.

SDSTA would be happy to endorse the bipartisan *DOE Science for the Future Act*, and we look forward to working with you on final passage.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Headley Executive Director