Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Subcommittee on Research and Technology

To view the official roster of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, click here. The Full Committee Chair and Ranking Minority Member shall serve as ex-officio members of all subcommittees.
Republican Members (9)
Barbara Comstock, Virigina, Chair
Frank Lucas, Oklahoma
Randy Hultgren, Illinois
Steve Knight, California
Daniel Webster, Florida
Roger Marshall, Kansas, Vice Chair 
Debbie Lesko, Arizona 
Democrat Members (6)
Daniel Lipinski, Illinois, Ranking Member
Elizabeth Esty, Connecticut
Jacky Rosen, Nevada
Ami Bera, California
Don Beyer, Virginia
The Subcommittee on Research and Technology has legislative jurisdiction and general oversight and investigative authority on all matters relating to science policy and science education; the Office of Science and Technology Policy; all scientific research, and scientific and engineering resources (including human resources); all matters relating to science, technology, engineering and mathematics education; intergovernmental mechanisms for research, development, and demonstration and cross‐cutting programs; international scientific cooperation; National Science Foundation, university research policy, including infrastructure and overhead; university research partnerships, including those with industry; science scholarships; computing, communications, networking, and information technology; research and development relating to health, biomedical, and nutritional programs; research, development, and demonstration relating to nanoscience, nanoengineering, and nanotechnology; agricultural, geological, biological and life sciences research; materials research, development, demonstration, and policy; all matters relating to competitiveness, technology, standards, and innovation; standardization of weights and measures, including technical standards, standardization, and conformity assessment; measurement, including the metric system of measurement; the Technology Administration of the Department of Commerce; the National Institute of Standards and Technology; the National Technical Information Service; competitiveness, including small business competitiveness; tax, antitrust, regulatory and other legal and governmental policies related to technological development and commercialization; technology transfer, including civilian use of defense technologies; patent and intellectual property policy; international technology trade; research, development, and demonstration activities of the Department of Transportation; surface and water transportation research, development, and demonstration programs; earthquake programs and fire research programs, including those related to wildfire proliferation research and prevention; biotechnology policy; research, development, demonstration, and standards‐related activities of the Department of Homeland Security; Small Business Innovation Research and Technology Transfer; voting technologies and standards; other appropriate matters as referred by the Chairman; and relevant oversight.