Washington, D.C. —Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) today announced Subcommittee chairpersons and two other leadership positions for the Science, Space, and Technology Committee. Forty members will serve on the Science Committee this Congress, including 22 Republicans and 18 Democrats.

Chairman Smith: “The Science Committee plays an exciting role in the discoveries of science, the exploration of space, and the application of new technologies. The Committee oversees a $39 billion budget, more than 80% of which touches on research and development. Its purpose is to encourage the R&D that leads to new innovations and technological advancements, which will strengthen our economy and raise our standard of living.

“In the new Congress, the Science Committee will promote policies that support our nation’s space program, encourage energy independence, expand scientific education, fund basic research, and enhance the development of new technologies.

“All of this work begins in the Subcommittees. I look forward to joining our Subcommittee chairpersons and all our members to advance policies that spur innovation, job creation and economic growth.”


Full Committee

Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas)

Vice-Chairman Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.)

Chairman Emeritus Ralph Hall (R-Texas)


Subcommittee on Energy

Chairman Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.)

Vice-Chairman Randy Weber (R-Texas)


Subcommittee on Environment

Chairman Andy Harris (R-Md.)

Vice-Chairman Chris Stewart (R-Utah)


Subcommittee on Research

Chairman Larry Bucshon (R-Ind.)

Vice-Chairman Steve Stockman (R-Texas)


Subcommittee on Space

Chairman Steven Palazzo (R-Miss.)

Vice-Chairman Mo Brooks (R-Ala.)


Subcommittee on Technology

Chairman Thomas Massie (R-Ky.)

Vice-Chairman Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.)


Subcommittee on Oversight

Chairman Paul Broun (R-Ga.)

Vice-Chairman Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.)


Established in 1958, the Science, Space, and Technology Committee has jurisdiction over all non-defense federal scientific research and development. The Committee has jurisdiction over programs at the following federal agencies: NASA, the Department of Energy, the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Science Foundation, the Federal Aviation Administration, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, FEMA, the U.S. Fire Administration, and United States Geological Survey, among others.

For more information about the Science Committee, please visit www.science.house.gov