Washington, D.C. – Science, Space, and Technology Committee Member Rep. Randy Weber (R-Texas) today introduced a resolution to highlight the extensive analysis conducted by the State Department, which conclusively found that Keystone XL would be safe and environmentally sound.  Despite the findings of its own State Department, the Obama administration continues to drag its feet, delaying a decision that would create American jobs and increase our energy security.  

Rep. Weber: “The President and the State Department have had 1,699 days to exhaust all their options. It is time to build. The Keystone Pipeline is our country’s opportunity to become a leader in the energy industry, to create jobs, to help grow our economy and put us toward a path to energy independence and security.”

The resolution (H.Res. 214) was introduced after a Committee hearing earlier this month examining the extensive State Department review that included over 15,000 pages of environmental impact assessment, hundreds of thousands of public comments and extensive public and interagency dialogue. Despite thorough scientific analysis supporting the proposal, the Obama administration has yet to approve the project. Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) is an original cosponsor of the resolution.

Chairman Smith: “Four-and-a-half years have passed since the President made ‘shovel-ready’ part of the political discussion. I am happy to cosponsor a bill that makes clear the Keystone Pipeline would create jobs and enhance our energy independence with minimal impact to the environment.”

The State Department found that the proposed pipeline would “have a degree of safety over any other typically constructed domestic oil pipeline” and concluded it would have minimal impact to resources along the proposed route. Additionally, it estimated that construction of the pipeline would support over 40,000 jobs and yield $2 billion in earnings. 

Additional original cosponsors include Committee Members: Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas), Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas), Rep. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.), Rep. Steve Stockman (R-Texas), Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Rep. David Schweikert (R-Ariz.), and Rep. Chris Stewart (R-Utah).