Washington, D.C. - The Science, Space, and Technology Committee today approved three bills with bipartisan support.

The Weather Forecasting Improvement Act of 2013 [H.R. 2413] offered by Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.).

H.R.2413 protects lives and property through improved weather research to better forecast warnings of tornadoes and hurricanes. Environment Subcommittee Chairman Chris Stewart (R-Utah) and Ranking Member Suzanne Bonamici (D-Ore.) offered a bipartisan amendment that strengthens the bill and was approved by voice vote.

The National Integrated Drought Information System (NIDIS) Reauthorization Act of 2013 [H.R. 2431] sponsored by Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas).

H.R. 2431 reauthorizes and strengthens the NIDIS program, which has helped state and local governments, farmers, ranchers, and others both monitor and predict drought conditions. A Democratic amendment offered by Reps. Eric Swalwell (D-Ca.) and Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.) that specifies particular areas of research under the program was approved by voice vote.

The Technology and Research Accelerating National Security and Future Economic Resiliency Act of 2013 [H.R. 2981], or TRANSFER Act, sponsored by Rep. Chris Collins (R-N.Y.).

The TRANSFER Act accelerates the transition of technology developed at universities, federal laboratories and non-profit research institutions to the private sector.  The bill builds upon the Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) program by creating grant opportunities for proof-of-concept research and other innovative technology transfer activities at universities, research institutes and federal laboratories to accelerate the commercialization of federally-funded research and technologies.

Prior to debate on a fourth bill [H.R. 3625] offered by Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), the Committee recessed subject to the call of the Chair. Chairman Smith indicated that he expects the Committee to reconvene to consider the bill next week.

For additional information about today’s markup, please visit the Science, Space, and Technology Committee website.