WASHINGTON - The U.S. House Science, Space, and Technology Committee today unanimously approved the Low Dose Radiation Research Act of 2017 (H.R. 4675), introduced by Rep. Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), vice chairman of the Subcommittee on Oversight, and cosponsored by Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.), Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas), and Subcommittee on Energy Chairman Randy Weber (R-Texas).

Chairman Smith: “The Low Dose Radiation Research Act identifies and addresses basic research challenges in low dose radiation science at the Department of Energy. The low dose radiation research program ensures that we develop a thorough knowledge of any health impacts of low levels of radiation and continue to use the best available science to serve and maximize our nation’s energy, medical and defense needs. I appreciate Rep. Marshall’s initiative on this critical subject.”

Rep. Marshall: “I am honored to be part of a committee that prioritizes the best resources for doctors like myself. It is imperative that we put politics aside to make sure our physicians and regulators have the support that they need in evaluating exposures to low doses of radiation, today's vote was a clear example of that. The Low Dose Radiation Research Act of 2017 will provide doctors and government agencies with concrete evidence-based research on the effects that low-dose radiation exposure has on our population. Advances in radiation therapy have literally changed survival rates for many cancer patients, and have saved thousands of lives. It is important as radiation screening increases that our doctors have a clear understanding of the health risks associated with this exposure. I am proud to see this bill reach the House, and hope that this Congress can take swift action.”


Rep. Marshall’s Low Dose Radiation Research Act of 2017 provides a low-dose radiation basic research program at the Department of Energy. It was introduced on December 18, 2017. The bill text can be found here.

Letters of support for H.R. 4675 can be found here.